Chloe Aridjis searching for the soul of Berlin

Tonight’s visit to Haunch of Venison was not just about fine art. It was also a very social evening of which a highlight was an introduction to the Dutch/Mexican author Chloe Aridjis, whose first novel Book of Clouds must surely merit a read.

She explained to me that it is a ‘psychogeography’ of Berlin, a style of writing that I am currently fascinated by, having recently read Ian Sinclair’s excellent Orbital and the delicious Hackney, That Rose Red Empire.

What Chloe didn’t tell me (that subsequent Googling has revealed) is that the book has been reviewed very favourably by the New York Times, no less, which is also allowing you to read the first chapter, gratis. If, like me, you are fascinated by the history as found in present day locations of Berlin go here.

Meanwhile I can’t resist showing you some photos taken on my trip to Berlin last November.

Leave a comment